The UK Evaluation Society Council represents all evaluators across different sectors, disciplines and career stages

Council members have a very important role supporting the Society to operate, including planning the UK Evaluation Society Annual Conference, AGM and training events, and advising how to improve the Society’s services.

All Council members are elected for a two-year term. The Council consists of Directors (President, Vice Presidents, Immediate Past President, Secretary and Treasurer) and at least ten ordinary members. Each Council member participates in at least one working group.

Elections to Council take place in autumn each year and all members of the Society are eligible to apply, requiring a proposer and seconder among existing members of the Society.

Current Officers

  • President: Bridget Dillon
  • Vice-President: Peter Welsh
  • Vice-President: Vacancy
  • A Past President: Tim Chadborn
  • Secretary: Andrew Berry
  • Treasurer: Alison Girdwood

Current Council Members

  • Matthew Baumann
  • George Bramley
  • Jackie Chandler
  • Meera Craston
  • Hala Elsayed
  • Matthew Hill
  • Colin Jacobs
  • Tarran Macmillan
  • Jessica Ozan
  • Murray Saunders
  • Colleen Souness
  • Matthew Terry
  • Giovanna Voltolina



Society Administrator : Sharon Scotcher

Sharon joined UK Evaluation Society in June 2019 as our Society Administrator.  She is a very experienced Executive Assistant who had previously been a Branch Administrator for the Institute of Directors after a long career as a senior manager in the NHS.

Sharon is our front of house contact via and very much enjoys the interaction she has with all our Members and other interested individuals/organisations.


Virtual Business Manager : Emmeline Henderson

Emmeline is a communicator, facilitator and writer with 10 years’ experience across communications, organisational development and knowledge management.  At the end of 2020 she started her own business, Insightful\Exchange, to help development organisations, NGOs and researchers tell compelling stories and share their work with the world.

The role of Virtual Business Manager with UK Evaluation Society is the first contract in her new role and she’s very much enjoying working with the team to deliver the society’s business plan and raise the profile of the society whilst supporting the valuable work they do for the evaluation community.  Emme can be contacted at